Should Nevada elect the president by popular vote, a catalog of audio testimony on AB186

Carson City – Five times in American history a candidate lost the popular vote yet became President of the United States either through the Electoral College or in the case of John Adams, the House of Representatives.  The five presidents are, John Adams, Rutherford B.Hayes, Grover Cleveland, George W. Bush, and Donald J. Trump.

Should Nevada adopt AB186, the state would join a growing list of states who have chosen to compact together to allocate their electoral votes to the winner of the national popular vote in presidential elections.  To date, 12 jurisdictions have entered into the national popular vote compact, and Colorado recently passed the compact in both houses of its legislature, and the bill is expected to be signed by Governor Jarid Polis.

With Colorado, the 13 jurisdictions that have already enacted the bill possess 181 electoral votes.  The National Popular Vote Compact will come into effect when approved by states possessing 270 electoral votes, the number needed to elect the president, so 89 more electoral votes are needed, so should Nevada join the compact, the state would add its 6 electoral votes, which would leave 83 remaining electoral votes needed.

Hear Assemblyman Tyrone Thompson presents AB186 to the Assembly Legislative Operations and Elections on February 26, 2019.


Hear Assemblywoman Brittney Miller present AB186.


Barry Fadem of the National Popular Vote Compact offered opening remarks on AB186.


Several Republican lawmakers asked legal counsel for the Legislative Counsel Bureau (LCB) if AB186 was constitutional.  Kevin Powers chief litigation counsel for LCB Legal Division said the measure does pass constitutional muster.  Hear Kevin Powers’ assessment of the bill.


Republican lawmakers asked if the bill would do away with the Electoral College.  Barry Fadems of the National Popular Vote Compact responded.


Testimony In Support of AB186

If we misspelled your name, please write us at, and we’ll make the correction.

Assemblywoman Shannon Bilbray-Axelrod, a Democrat from Las Vegas representing District 34.


Megan Ortiz, legislative assistant ACLU of Nevada.


Natha Andersen, Nevada State Education Association.


Stephen Horner


Maria Theresa Lieberman, Battle Born Progress.


Darryl Elliot


Doug Goodman, executive director, Nevadans for Election Reform


Molly Rose Lewis


Laura Hale, Indivisible Northern Nevada


Dr. Sondra Cosgrove, College of Southern Nevada History Professor and League of Women Voters NV President.


Jean Melby-Mauer


Ed Gonzalez


Mary Richardson


Greg Gardella


Will Kramer, a high school student from Reno


Joy Viselli


Gwenn Hunter


Jean Laird, League of Women Voters of Northern Nevada


Vivian Leal Indivisible Nevada


Senator James Ohrenschall, a Democrat from Las Vegas representing state Senate District 21.


Testimony in Opposition to AB186

Trent England Oklahoma Council of Public Affairs.



Janine Hansen state president, Nevada Families for Freedom


Mary Porter


Anthony Palmer


John Kolaw


Denise Mraz with American First and Don’t California our Nevada


Jim DeGraffenreid vice chairman of the Nevada Republican Party


Diane Baranowski, president of Nevada Federation of Republican Women


Juanita Cox, president of the Nevada Republican Assembly


Jim Sully


Debbie, chair of the Active Republican Women


Linda Buckhardt


Bob Russo


Maurice White


Jim Hindle


Daphne Lee


Renee Borman


Lynn Chapman, treasurer of the Nevada Independent American Party


James Faulk



This site uses cookies to provide you with a great user experience. By continuing to use this website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our privacy policy.

Scroll to Top